Uncategorized

A Restless Writer Reports In

I’ve been unreasonably excited about the launch of this blog, since I finally decided to do it yesterday! So while I hope to avoid a lot of intensive navel-gazing here –although, I’m so very, very good at it– I do want to start out by talking about why I’m launching "A Curious Mind".

So. I’ve been writing professionally for almost ten years. I love it. I especially love it when I get to turn the various things that tickle my brain into a finished piece of writing that then tickles other people’s brains. (That this trick results in money is also very nice indeed!)

But it turns out that there are a lot of these "brain bonbons"–thoughts, trends, questions– that provoke and intrigue me, but that I don’t have the time to write about in any depth immediately. There are also a great number of these little lovelies that I uncover when I’m working on a story, that I can’t fit in to the finished work. (The nonfiction article seems like an endlessly flexible form, but the truth is that you have to be ruthless in trimming the less-than-relevant-bits….as my editors have pounded into me over the years.) I hate to lose track of these intellectual confections, so I hope this blog will be their home, and with any luck, their incubator.

I also see this blog as a way of test-driving ideas. I have no idea how many people will frequent this site– maybe I’ll mostly be talking to myself. But if other people do land here, and comment on the things that interest me, this will be a neat way of finding out whether my fascinations are of interest to anyone else besides me. 

Finally, since this TypePad software is so easy to use, I plan to update this blog a lot more frequently than I ever updated my web site. (Which still exists, by the way, and will morph into an online portfolio and story archive.) Since I am such a notoriously bad correspondent with far-flung friends and family, and even with those that are flung a bit closer, I hope that this blog can be a way of having more frequent fabulous conversations. 

4 thoughts on “A Restless Writer Reports In

  1. Alison, Congratulations on “A Curious Mind.” As a curious fellow myself, I’ll visit often and be happy to have a safe place to explore life’s curiosities. Yours, Kevin

  2. Congratulations on your new blog. I am amazed that you still have time for this on top of all the writing you already do.

    Anyway, I thought blogs were outdated. The new thing is vlogs.

    Dany

  3. I guess I’m just an old fashioned gal, Dany! Vlogs (video weblogs) are more for the flashy tv personality types, I think.

Leave a Reply

