Alison's Writing Portfolio · On Culture & Trends

Family Care Unit (Continental, 10-2005)

Family_care_unit2
I’ve been quiet for the past few days because I’m a bit under the weather.

(At some point, I need to figure out whether other people besides me always get sick right around the time the seasons change. I’m sure there are very many good reasons for this, like I tend to always have an inexplicable crush of work just before the Fall and just before the Summer, or because I fail to follow mom’s instructions and never bring a sweater Just In Case.)

Anyway, it’s nothing serious, I’ll be back to fighting form in a few days. In the meantime, here’s a story that I wrote for Continental about family-centered care at hospitals, an idea that I hope will catch on since it just makes good sense. I also hope that we’ll soon find a way to provide meaningful, basic, healthcare to the 45.8 million people who are uninsured, and have few options for any sort of health care at all. Expect more from me on this subject soon.

Leave a Reply

