Alison's Writing Portfolio · On People & Co.

Creative Control –Inc., July 2007

My third article in the July issue is on one of my favorite subjects: creativity. Here, I look at how entrepreneurs can both run a company and take the time to have ideas. I’ve tackled this subject a few times before: I look at the science of brainstorming in  The Perfect Brainstorm, and I look at the ins an outs of having an idea when you’re an employee in this rather vintage piece, Hey, Great Idea! Now the Company Owns It.

For this story, I came across my lead example, KidRobot, at the Cooper Hewitt’s Design Triennial, which presents the best of emerging ideas and experimental design from 2003-2006. The Cooper Hewitt is one of my favorite museums in the city, and I think it’s a tragically overlooked source of inspiration for entrepreneurs, since the most successful designers are those that can make their ideas connect with their intended audience.

