Alison's Writing Portfolio · On Places & Travel

Four Hours in Krakow –Business Traveler, April 2008

Pict0063I visited Krakow, Poland, last May, and quite by accident, happened to be there for the city’s 750th birthday. It was quite the party, and on the night of the major festivities which centered around an outdoor concert, Old Town was packed with patriotic Poles –to the point of near panic for me!

I’m still working on several stories that have come out of that trip–my family is originally from Krakow — but in the meantime, my latest piece for Business Traveler, a Four Hour Guide to this most lovely city, has hit the newsstands. In the story, which you can download below, I craft a perfect Krakovian afternoon, including a walk from Old Town to the former Jewish neighborhood of Kasimierz, which takes you past Wawel Castle, pictured here. If you’re interested in planning a Jewish themed trip to Krakow, by the way, I’ve just learned of this site, which seems quite handy.

Download FourHoursKrakow.pdf

