Daybook · On Creativity - Art, Jewelry, Writing

Fevers and Enthusiasms (Writers & Travelers Seeking Inspiration Pay Attention)

For whatever reason, this morning I picked up one of my favorite books, Zen in the Art of Writing, by Ray Bradbury. And I just want to endorse the book, and especially this paragraph, which basically encompasses my entire philosophy as a writer:

“If you are writing without zest, without gusto, without love, without fun, you are only half a writer. It means you are so busy keeping one eye on the commercial market, or one ear peeled for the avant-garde coterie, that you are not being yourself. You don’t even know yourself. For the first thing that a writer should be is -–excited. He should be a thing of fevers and enthusiasms. Without such vigor, he might as well be out picking peaches or digging ditches; God knows it would be better for his health.”

For travelers, or traveling writers, I also endorse this in its entirety, and especially this part:

“Learn to love the world, if you don’t already. That’s the real goal of all this traveling, all this soaking up and cultural immersion, all this packing and repacking of backpacks and wearing out of walking shoes, all this planning of excursions and saving up of tickets….

May you burn in your delight and enthusiasms in 2009. Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Fevers and Enthusiasms (Writers & Travelers Seeking Inspiration Pay Attention)

  1. I just started following you on Twitter, which led me to your site. Thanks for posting the Ray Bradbury quotation. By complete coincidence, I just finished re-reading “Fahrenheit 451” for the first time since high school, and I realized again what a thought-provoking writer Bradbury is. And this quotation is a great way to kick off the new year!

  2. Thanks for the follow, Laura! I haven’t read Fahrenheit in a million years, I should put that on my reading list.

Leave a Reply

