Alison's Writing Portfolio · On Books · On Creativity - Art, Jewelry, Writing · On Culture & Trends · On Design & Art · On Food & Drink · On Lifestyle · On Places & Travel

News and Stories: November – December 2009

News: An excerpt of my World Hum story, the Heat Seeker, will be appearing in Best Women’s Travel Writing 2010! (Hitting the bookstores in February.)

Travels: I took a road trip that started in Tucson, Arizona, continued on to Albuquerque and Santa Fe, New Mexico, and ended with a quick spin through the Petrified Forest and Flagstaff.  Then, I used my passport for the last time in 2009 for a trip to Venice and San Cassiano in the Dolomites.

Stories: On the dead tree front, for Robb Report, November 2009: Bookies Pick: Bauman Rare Books offers Las Vegas shoppers something a bit more heady.

It’s always hard for me to select highlights from About.com Culinary Travel,

…but I’m not going to replicate the entire site here! So if you’re in the mood for a tropical get away, go take a look at a photo essay about foodie’s Kauai, and learn more about that island’s culinary scene. Once again, my weakness for adorable farm animals trumps strict editorial judgment, look at this guy I met at Kauai Kunana dairy.

On the blog: read about the perils of drinking where Hemingway drank, Tuscon’s best hot dogs, and a Bacon of the Month Club in Indianapolis.

On Perceptive Travel,

…I wrote a piece I’m very proud of, about my stay in Mumbai prior to the terrorist attacks in 2008. I also marked the 20th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall.

I considered why tropical waters are so damned blue: you need depth, reflection and clarity. I pondered the future of postcards, and took a look back at my own beginnings as a travel writer — that was a post that ran on my 35th birthday.

Finally, I wrote a couple of reviews: A book review of Something to Declare: Good Lesbian Travel Writing, and my thoughts on the disappointing moral of  “Up in the Air”, which includes major spoilers.

Over at Luxist,

…learn about: what I do in a hotel room with radiant heated flooring; an amazing exhibit at New York City’s Alaska House Gallery; a look back at the golden age of travel by ocean liner; and handbags made of recycled newspapers at the Fairmont Copley Plaza in Boston.

Leave a Reply

