Uncategorized

January 2010 – March 2010

Happy New Year everyone. I have a lot of catching up to do; it’s funny, with all the professional blogging I do nowadays, I rarely have time to update my personal blog. Insert handwringing here.

Now then, here’s what’s been up with me:

News: Best Women’s Travel Writing 2010 has been published! I’m participating in a reading at my favorite indie bookstore, Idlewild on March 31st, 2010, 7 p.m.  Come one, come all!

Travels: I’ve spent the first part of this year focused on international travel: French Polynesia, Montreal, Tasmania and Melbourne. I also went to Puerto Rico, which is part of the United States, of course, but doesn’t feel like it. I’ll be heading to Thailand next, and then I’ll shift gears towards the domestic again for a bit.

Stories: On Luxury Latin America, I reviewed Puebla’s La Purificadora hotel.

On Perceptive Travel, I’ve thought more about the nature of traveling — the lies we travelers tell, the lists we make, the way we break for Spring (or rather, what I don’t like about Spring Break), the way we travel for an audience as much as for ourselves.  I wrote two pieces that I wish more people would read: one about travel during the days of segregation in the US, the other about swimming with sharks. I’ve also written about men and shoes in Toronto,  and what Venice, Melbourne, and Berlin have in common.

On Luxist, where I let my inner snob run rampant,  I ruffled feathers by discussing my (personal) dislike of large cruise ships, while reviewing a lovely small ship, the Paul Gauguin. I also confessed to being a travel loser, and shared my thoughts on several hotels I’ve checked out recently: Hotel le St James in Montreal, Hix Island House in Vieques, Miraval in Tucson, Rosa Alpina in the Dolomites, InterContinental Bora Bora,   Casa de Sierra Nevada in San Miguel de Allende, The Grand Hyatt Kauai,  and 3 hotels that make great layovers,

I shared news of several art exhibitions including one on quilts at the V&A Museum in London. I discussed whether or not you should bury your BlackBerry in the sand at Los Cabos and how flying Air Tahiti Nuit’s business class was like the best sick day ever.

It would make me very happy if you read all of About.com Culinary Travel every day — I do get paid by the page view. Seriously, though, check out my photo essay on visiting a food market in Shanghai. I also launched a series on that blog called Let’s Dish, which highlights a great dish in a great meal.  I still can’t stop thinking about the cheese soufflé I had for dessert at Pikayo in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Or the poisson cru in Bora Bora.

Leave a Reply

