Alison's Writing Portfolio · On Adventure · On Herself · On Places & Travel

What’s Your Cartouche? – Perceptive Travel

I’m leaving for the airport to fly to Morocco in just about twenty minutes.  I’ve never been before, and the idea of landing in Casablanca, as they claim I’ll be doing by tomorrow morning, sounds impossibly exotic  — almost as if I heard that I was flying JFK to Oz.  (As in Dorothy and the Wicked Witch, not Australia.)  I’m sure it’s all real though.

Meanwhile, here are a few thoughts on how I imagine a place before I visit it for the first time. A delightful romp through Dutch cartography, Route 66, and a mysterious floppy hat.

Updated: And here’s Part II: Imagining Places After You Travel.

Leave a Reply

