Alison's Writing Portfolio · On Places & Travel

My Mixed Feelings About Marrakech – Luxist

This looks like a hotel review, but it’s actually the start of exploring my mixed feelings about Marrakech.  I began with this quote from Elias Canetti : “In order to feel at home in a strange city, you need to have a secluded room, to which you have a certain title, and in which you can be alone when the tumult of new and incomprehensible voices becomes too great.”

The hotel I stayed at was truly wonderful — not without its flaws, but in my top ten in the world, for sure. But the city was difficult. I’ll have more to say on it shortly. Meanwhile, here are my observations about La Mamounia and its flashy guests.

Leave a Reply

