Alison's Writing Portfolio · On Culture & Trends · On Places & Travel · On Politics

Canada is Bizarro World and I Mean it in The Nicest Way- Perceptive Travel

Scene from Montreal's Nuit Blanche. Alison Stein Wellner
Photo by Alison Stein Wellner

 

My musings on race continue in this Perceptive Travel piece on the definition of “white”.

It has occurred to me that I find it easier and less painful to look at how race issues play out in other countries than to contemplate what’s happening here in the United States. I feel physically ill over the situation that Hispanics are facing in Arizona and now in Florida.

Closer to (my) home, I’m infuriated over the “Ground Zero Mosque” controversy, which is in fact neither a debate over a mosque nor Ground Zero.  It’s the sleaziest form of political race baiting.  (If there can be said to be a “Jewish race”, why not a “Muslim race”?)

I’m about to go on vacation, but when I come back, I plan to swallow my nausea, hold my nose, and start to tackle these U.S.-based race issues in my work.

Leave a Reply

