Alison's Writing Portfolio · Daybook · On Places & Travel · On Teaching

How to Tell a Vacation Story (Without Putting Everyone to Sleep)

So this one time, I was dune bashing in the Wahiba Sands in Oman when…

As we’re entering the summer travel season, the subject of vacation is sure to crop up in conversation: at dinner parties, at the office, at a business lunch.

Wouldn’t it be nice not to bore everyone to tears?  Why yes, it would.  A few years back, I wrote a story about how to tell a good vacation story.  I wrote it because I was really tired of hearing meandering stories about lost luggage, rooms with crappy views, and literal blow-by-blow accounts of food poisoning.

That’s not to say that I always tell a great story — I have sometimes realized in horror that that the story I’m in the midst of telling has no point and isn’t very interesting. At that point, I believe it’s a kindness to change the subject. Abruptly.

Anyway, as you’re trying on your bathing suits and breaking out the flip-flops, here’s how to tune up your storytelling skills.

Leave a Reply

