Daybook · On Places & Travel

Thanksgiving in Mexico

At the top of the long list of things I’m grateful for, I’m pleased I missed the official kick off the the 2013 holiday season this year. This I accomplished by stealing across the border a few days before Thanksgiving and taking up temporary residence in San Miguel de Allende.

(Okay, my definition of “stealing across a border” means flying Delta from Newark to Mexico City and filing the appropriate paperwork with the authorities. In this instance, at least, everything was on the up and up.)

I realize some people, perhaps even most, would sooner gouge out an eye than miss a Big Holiday at home. But while I dislike enforced gaiety,  I did find myself some very nice pumpkin pie.

(Photos from my iPhone.)

Leave a Reply

